en

Jean-Jacques Rampal

Violinmaker and expert in instruments of the violin family

Jonathan Marolle

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Meet the team

Succeeding to Etienne Vatelot, famous violinmaker and expert, Jean Jacques Rampal restores and sets up instruments played by major international soloists.

From 1977 to 1980, Jean-Jacques Rampal followed an apprenticeship with Jean-Jacques Pagès, master violinmaker in Mirecourt, cradle of French lutherie, where he learnt the making of stringed instruments (violin, viola, cello). He then went to Charles Beare’s workshop in London to study high level restoration and expertise of antique instruments.

In 1983, he returned to Paris and for 15 years, under the guidance of Etienne Vatelot, he deepened his knowledge, restored and set up instruments played by international soloists such as Yo-Yo Ma, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Slava Rostropovitch, Boris Belkin, Salvatore Accardo, Isaac Stern, Maxim Vengerov, Patrice Fontanarosa, Olivier Charlier and many more.

In 1994, Jean-Jacques Rampal was named expert at the “Cour d’Appel de Paris” (Paris’ Court) in the section dedicated to stringed instruments.  He occupies the same function with the ‘Orchestre de Paris’, ‘Orchestre National de Radio-France’, ‘Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio-France’, ‘Ensemble Orchestral de Paris’, as well as with orchestras of Lille, Brittany, of Cannes-Provence, and Las Palmas (Canarias Islands).

In January 1998, Jean-Jacques Rampal succeeded Etienne Vatelot at the head of the workshop.  Now recognized as an international expert, numerous musicians and colleagues call on him for his knowledge and to obtain authenticity certificates.

Jean-Jacques Rampal gives lectures in many parts of the world to promote violin making (Europe, Canada, Korea, Japan).  A violin and cello competition for young musicians is named after him.

When Jean-Jacques Rampal comes to Vichy – which he has done since 1996 – as an expert in international musical instrument auction sales – he returns a little to his family roots: as a matter of fact, it is here that his father, the famous flautist Jean-Pierre Rampal started his career in 1946 as solo flautist with the Vichy Orchestra.

fr

Jean-Jacques Rampal

Luthier et expert en instruments du quatuor

Jonathan Marolle

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Découvrir l’équipe

Successeur du célèbre luthier et expert  Etienne Vatelot, Jean-Jacques Rampal règle et restaure les instruments des plus grands solistes internationaux.

Jean-Jacques Rampal est entré en apprentissage de 1977 à 1980 à Mirecourt, berceau de la lutherie française, chez Jean-Jacques Pagès, Maître luthier auprès duquel il a appris la fabrication des instruments à cordes frottées (violon, violoncelle et alto). Il est ensuite allé à Londres chez Charles Beare où il continue d’apprendre la haute restauration et l’expertise d’instruments anciens.

En 1983, il revient à Paris dans l’Atelier du célèbre luthier Etienne Vatelot et durant 15 années il approfondit ses connaissances, règle et restaure les instruments de solistes internationaux tels que : Yo-Yo-Ma, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Slava Rostropovitch, Boris Belkin, Salvatore Accardo, Isaac Stern, Maxim Vengerov, Patrice Fontanarosa, Olivier Charlier et bien d’autres musiciens.

En 1994, Jean-Jacques Rampal a été nommé expert près de la Cour d’Appel de Paris pour les instruments à cordes frottées. Une fonction qu’il remplit également pour les instruments de l’Orchestre de Paris, l’Orchestre National de Radio France, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, l’Ensemble Orchestral de Paris, les Orchestres de Lille, de Bretagne, de Cannes-Provence et de Las Palmas aux Canaries.

C’est à partir de janvier 1998 que Jean-Jacques Rampal a pris la succession de l’atelier d’Etienne Vatelot. Reconnu comme expert international, de nombreux musiciens et confrères font appel à ses connaissances pour obtenir des certificats d’authenticité.

Jean-Jacques Rampal donne des conférences pour promouvoir la lutherie dans le monde entier. (Europe, Canada, Corée, Japon). Un concours de violon et violoncelle  pour jeunes musiciens  porte actuellement son nom.

Et lorsque Jean-Jacques Rampal vient officier, et ce depuis 1996, comme expert des ventes internationales d’instruments de musique à Vichy, c’est un peu des racines musicales de sa famille qu’il retrouve : c’est en effet dans cette ville que son père, le célèbre flûtiste Jean-Pierre Rampal commença sa carrière en 1946 comme flûte solo de l’Orchestre de Vichy.